NASA LAUNCHES SOUNDING ROCKET FROM AUSTRALIA

This week, a NASA sounding rocket took off from the Arnhem Space Center in Australia's Northern Territory with the first of three science missions.

The launch, which used a Black Brant IX suborbital rocket, happened on June 26, 2022, at 10:29 a.m. EDT (14:29 UTC).

It was Australia's first commercial launch and NASA's first launch from a commercial launch facility outside of the United States.

There are two more science mission launches in this series. The next one is scheduled for 6:54 a.m. EDT (10:54 UTC) on July 4.

In the first launch of the series, a science experiment from the University of Wisconsin called the X-ray Quantum Calorimeter (XQC) was on board.

It reached a height of 203 miles (237 kilometres) before landing southwest of the launch site using a parachute.

Experts close to the launch said that the data collection by the science instrument was a success,

And NASA said that the team will get back the science instrument and the rocket motors to study them further.

X-ray space telescopes take pictures in a unique way. By looking at a small patch of light, they can make a map of the sky.

NASA says that the XQC is meant to have 50 times better energy resolution than what was possible before.

With the help of other NASA X-ray missions, scientists have now made an even more detailed map of the X-ray sky. Still, there are a few bright spots that come from sources we don't know.

Keep updated with all of gaming
& technology universe

Click Here